previous - "The Beautiful People" - next - Skip to an entry at random

This is the part where I consecrate your knee.

Tuesday, Apr. 18, 2017 - 22:17

Having a shave this evening, 'cause I am off to see a customer tomorrow, I caught one of the little skin tag things on my neck, and it bled like a fucker. I'll have to wash it and see how it goes and put a plaster on it if necessary. This isn't the most exciting of opening paragraphs. It's got nothing on 'I Capture The Castle' at least.

Speaking of which (almost as if that was planed) and of novels set in large buildings in 1930s England, I am very much enjoying 'Atonement'. It's a bit odd knowing what is going to happen, having seen the film, but the quality is so high that I am loving it just as I loved 'Pride and Prejudice' despite being more familiar with the screen version. Dropping the mother of all c-bombs muchly amusing too.

Theresa May wants to call a General Election this summer. In the USA, Trish Vradenburg has died aged seventy - she was a screenwriter and wrote shows for 'Kate & Allie', which I vaguely recall. It blurs slightly into 'Caroline in The City'. She was a fund raiser for Alzheimer's, which is very philanthropic of her and her husband.

My brother rang this evening, and we had a brief chat whilst I walked home from the station. Alas it was a bit difficult to hear, and alas he and I are very different people and aren't as close as we once were - conversation was pretty civilised but cosmetic. Today in 1899 saw The St. Andrew's Ambulance Association be granted a Royal Charter by Queen Victoria. Robert François Laugier (1722–1793) was a French pharmacologist.

Apparently there are now more than 100 residents on Scottish island Eigg, which is good (up thirty or so in the last twenty years). I was reading about the Frisian Islands earlier, 'cause it's the anniversary of Heligoland being blown the fuck up. Yes, I know it's not part of the Frisians, but still. I'm still wondering how the cows got over the sea, I suppose they got on the ferry. Not the Brian Ferry.

I was looking forward to watching 'Alan Davies As Yet Untitled' this evening, but it appears last week's was the last in the series. This surprised me, as I could swear it'd only been going three or so weeks, not the six to eight it has been. Still, 'Taskmaster' starts again soon. I had 'Private Dancer' by Tina Turner stuck in my head a far amount of the day. Some dickhead is revving his car engine loudly outside, clearly compensating for having a small penis.

HMS Mermaid was a Hawthorn Leslie three-funnel, 30 knot destroyer ordered by the Royal Navy under the 1896 – 1897 Naval Estimates. She was launched in 1898, served during World War I and was sold for breaking in 1919. I think I'll go to bed and read a bit, whatsay. I'll pour myself some more fizzy vimto and grab a caramel shortbread first.


[CLQFL2] Leicester City 1-1 Atletico Madrid [1-2 agg.]. The Spanish side were pretty dominant, controlling the tie, letting Leicester come to them and then breaking. A Saul header from a Felipe Luiz cross just before the half hour was an important away goal, and you just couldn't then see the English team scoring three. Quarter of an hour into the second Vardy scored within a scramble, game on, but I was still far from convinced 'owt was likely despite Shakespeare sending his side out more positive in the second. End of a fairytale, but the East Midlands club gave a good account of themselves.

[CLQFL2] Real Madrid 4-2 Bayern Munich (AET) [6-3 agg.]. A goal-less first half saw both sides have chances, but neither set of players muster a key moment. Early in the second though a penalty awarded saw Lewandowski convert and put the tie level on aggregate with the Spanish only holding an away goals advantage at that point. Two goals in as many minites was crucial - first Rissole Crumbanana scored for Madrid, but I was delighted his smile was wiped off his face with an immediate Sergio Ramos own goal levelling things absolutely in the tie with twelve minutes left. Extra time started, but Munich were a man down, Vidal having had a second yellow just before the end of regulation. Ronaldo got his (and Madrid's) second of the evening at the end of ET1, and added another just after. Preening pea(-sized)cock. Asensio added one more.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

This is all copyright 2002-2017 'He Who Is Joist Monkey'.