previous - "The Beautiful People" - next - Skip to an entry at random

Polly has an apron on today.

Monday, Sept. 18, 2017 - 22:37

The first day back at work after time off can be a cunt, but today wasn't nearly as bad as I feared it might be (despite my colleague now being on holiday). / I read 'Notes on a Scandal' today, which was pretty damned good, despite some aspects I didn't much like. Good vocabulary though - 'concupiscence', for example was a new one for me - and a section on childlessness and loneliness was very poignant. / This evening I played a little on my football management thing, but got a bit impatient with the losing n'that so turned it off in a huff as I was clearly not in the right kind of mood. / Of course forty years ago today, Voyager I took the first photograph of the Earth and the Moon together. Though more importantly, my friend (who's name is not Kenny) was born that day too. / On television this evening, University Challenge, that Upstart Crow thing (not that funny, bit obvious), Undateables, and something else not beginning with 'U'. / For dinner I had various salad type stuff picked up cheap from Tesco. Plus one of those gorgeous thick Fage yoghurts. / Although the primary evolutionary purpose of sexual activity is reproduction, research on college students suggested that people have sex for four general reasons: physical attraction, as a means to an end, to increase emotional connection, and to alleviate insecurity. / Most German history takes place on the 9th of November. This is a significant day of the year in Germany as it marks the date of Kaiser Willhelm II’s abdication in 1918, the Nazi Party’s failed Beer Hall Putsch in 1923, the murderous Kristallnacht in 1938 and also the day the Berlin wall fell in 1989. / I really don't have much to say for myself today, it's been a pretty ordinary day if I am honest. No sport to make note of, too. League Cup next round tomorrow and the day after, the remaining big boys enter the competition. / It’s illegal in Iceland for parents to threaten children with fictional characters. / We've got auditors at work tomorrow, and I can't be fucking arsed.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

This is all copyright 2002-2017 'He Who Is Joist Monkey'.