previous - "The Beautiful People" - next - Skip to an entry at random

Stark naked, blood-stained, calling for bagels.

Thursday, Dec. 28, 2017 - 23:38

Work was a [swear word]. The significant snow and ice didn't bother me on the way in, but the fact I had to spend all day dealing on my own with things having been fucked up in my absence, little information to know why, and even less I could do to help. It's actually surprisingly rare to have customers swearing at me, but today a couple did swear down the phone at the situation they'd been put in by my employers fuckin' up, it amounts to the same thing. I stayed a little late doing half of the things I'd hope the day would be quiet enough to completely finish.

England were on top at the end of the third day in Melbourne, Cook 244 not out with England 491/9 (Root and Broad both with fifties) leading by 164 runs. I stuck the radio on this evening and listened to some of the first session, Anderson was out first ball and Cook carried his bat for 244, record broken. Hopefully two or three key wickets would fall for Australia early on.

Ninety-nine years ago today Constance Markievicz, while detained in Holloway prison as part of her involvement in the Easter Rising, became the first woman to be elected MP to the British House of Commons. Some may see her as a nationalist and suffragette hero, some as a murderer and terrorist - she was both, and she would've been sentenced to death for killing a policeman had she not been a woman. She died of complications from appendicitis aged 59 in 1927.

I'm reading a crime thriller please procedural by T.F. Muir, 'Blood Torment', set in St. Andrews. It's been a bit plodding so far, lots of talking and going to places to do police stuff - plus a bit too much that seems to rely on previous books in the series.

German sprinters Holger and Marc Blume, twin brothers, are 44 today. Marc has the quicker time over 100m in competition, was the top sprinter from his country five out of six years between 1995-2000 (Holger was best in 1999) and has a gold from the 1996 European Championships.

The top flight game this evening ended Crystal Palace 2-3 Arsenal, in what sounds like great entertainment. Mustafi opened the scoring for the visitors middle of half one, but Townsend levelled early in the second. A Sanchez double just past the hour won it for Arsenal, two in four minutes and they were comfortable except for a few minutes of injury time after Tomkins headed home from corner in the eighty-ninth.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

This is all copyright 2002-2017 'He Who Is Joist Monkey'.