previous - "The Beautiful People" - next - Skip to an entry at random

Respray my sternum, you wispy tomb strainer.

Tuesday, Apr. 25, 2017 - 23:10

Today went OK, though it was knackering. This morning I took a trip down memory lane, catching the same bus as I used to catch to work eight years ago to visit a customer about five minutes from where I used to work. It went OK - it was a little difficult as they were doing something unusual with cheese and didn't really have as much of a clue as they needed to have, so I said I'd put them in touch with a guy who can help. At lunchtime I caught the train to work and spent the afternoon trying to cram eight hours of work into five, with a sore eye and a computer system which wouldn't behave. Not got done all I wanted to get done in prep for tomorrow's client visit, it's busy busy busy this week.

Am reading 'The Book ofn Dave' by Will Self, which is wonderfully ambitious, but also somewhat slow going as a consequence of richness of language and a lot of phonetically spelled dialogue. I will of course persist because I'm pretty sure the net value will be worth it n'that, but it is feeling a little harder to consume than some of the others I have read by the same author, hence will have to go some to reach their standard.

My friend texted today saying that he's worried about likely to be getting the second stage of his work procedure about competancy etc. (he's had a written warning, I think this'll now be a written one or a kicking or something). I am torn between the desire to support and listen and comfort as a friend, and the concern that it's likely that his employers have quite a lot of good reason to be unhappy with his performance, hence.. um.. he probably should either make a lot better an effort, or if that's not good enough he should get a new job that he's ore capable of.

On Jools Holland this evening, Eivør (Pálsdóttir) was somewhat beautiful and interesting in her Faeroese balladry. Aspects of Orcadian music in there, plus Julie Fowlis, Bjork, Joanna Newsom. French electro Jain was also interesting and a striking performance too. I'll have to try and remember to tune in for the longer Jools Holland at the weekend, see what else was featured by there and a few of the other artists in the studio this evening.

Today in 1960 saw the US Navy submarine USS Triton complete the first submerged circumnavigation of the globe. British journalist Robert Peston was born the same day, though not in a submarine, as far as I am aware. I saw a bit of hail in Crewe this lunchtime, apparently there was snow in some parts of the area.

Incipient wetness impregnation is a lot less sexy than you expect it to be. It is a commonly used technique for the synthesis of heterogeneous catalysts. The new series of 'Taskmaster' started this evening with Huge Dennis, Lolly Adepodi, Joe Lysis, Mel Giedroyc and a curiously understated Noel Fielding. It was a bit odd - I'm not leaping to judge the series after just one episode, but it did feel less amusing/interesting than some of the previous episodes/series' due perchance to a focus on silly creativity as opposed to cleverness. Difficult o pinpoint, it's just felt weaker than previous. Perchance they're running out of tasks, perchance running out of the 'ideal' contestants? Perchance the novelty just less.

The 'Ooh Ah Cheeky Boys' footfall gamut concluded avec une framboise de Chelsea 4-2 Southampton. Hazard gave the hosts and early lead, but Romeu drew Saints level midway through the half. Cahill netted in first half injury time, and before the end Diego Costa netted a brace to secure the points. Bertrand's injury time consolation was that. Two times four-two for Chelsea in two games over four days. Entertainment for the fans of the elect champions.

Lon Chaney's version of "Erik" in the 1925 film The Phantom of the Opera had pervasive facial disfigurements, including jagged teeth and sunken-in eyes. Although Michaela Tabb was born in the south-west of England, her family moved to Scotland when she was three years old. She studied chemistry, biology, and sociology at the University of Glasgow, although she left the course before completing her studies and graduating.

Long trip tomorrow, plus a potentially tough meeting with a customer, plus some time with a colleague who I'd rather not be doing this in tandem with, if I am honest. I better go the fuck to bed, I suppose, and get the fuck to sleep. Shut the fuck up.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

This is all copyright 2002-2017 'He Who Is Joist Monkey'.