Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
Site search Web search

powered by FreeFind
Widget is loading comments...



Links:-

Diaryland Diaries
sidewaysrain
toastcrumbs
narcissa
wilberteets
stellarrobot
onlyemma
shot-of-tea
drbigbeef
portlypete
lilkate
omgwtfyo
crackisbad
loz-er
bridgecity
melle-belle
dangerspouse
stepfordtart
barefootruby
question-it
dinosaurs
annanotbob2
ottodixless
randomrabbit
suckasspoems
janeygodley
raven72d
vinylgirl
darklily
college-kid
nacht-katze
strawberrri
simeons-twin


Non-Diaryland Diaries
A Witty Kitty
Bone Idle
Bored Laura
DiscoDave
Frock'n'Roll
Gaffer's Planet
I'd Rather Be In Bedford...
JennyWooYay
Mighty MonkSeal
The Left Coast (mini)
Water Lilly Alley
WhaleFish

Others
Free Internet Chess Server

previous - "The Beautiful People" - next

Skip to an entry at random

The piebald disgrace hole.

Sunday, Jan. 26, 2014 - 18:07

A combination of things led to today being quite Sunday-ish. I woke at seven, and at nine, but didn't get out of bed till noon. I rattled about my flat for most of the afternoon, slightly scratchy because I didn't have anything specific that I needed to do (having done all of my weekend chores yesterday) and because I didn't really fancy going out for a Sunday roast dinner, despite having half an idea to do so earlier.

What I said the other day about the number of DVDs that I own but have not yet watched (and the similarly high number which I have seen only once) should perchance inform my weekend activities, as well as informing my weekday evenings as well - if there is fuck all on television like there is several days a week. I am motivated by ticking things off lists, and watching some of these films n'that would be something I could see myself doing (as opposed to blethering on about fuck all, like I am doing here).

I found it interesting, and I was actually quite angered, by photographs of the incident where Bryan Oviedo suffered a broken tibia and fibula yesterday when playing for Everton (in blue) against Stevenage (in white and red). There is a photograph doing the rounds where it appears his ankle was stamped on by the Stevenage player - an unfair assumption to perpetuate. In truth it was an unfortunate accident with no blame attached, Oviedo putting his leg between the ball and the Stevenage player, and the striker catching the back of his leg. No stamp occurred - the photo which suggested that occurred happened after the injury occurred - and shows Oviedo's leg sliding across the top of the ball, and the Stevenage player's foot pointing downwards and a good few inches behind Oviedo's ankle.

I was made happy yesterday in town when I saw a little boy of five or six chasing his little sister around whilst singing/humming The Imperial March from Star Wars. Derr derr derr, da-da derr, da-da derr... Good to see The Dark Side still claims kids these days.

My sister posted an online book review earlier on, of 'The Golden Compass' - the first book in Philip Pullman's 'His Dark Materials' series. I've not read the book, and have only seen a little of the film (girl on a flying polar bear, yes?) but was thoughtful about why my sister in her early forties might read a 'Young Adult' book. Yes, it's a bit sci-fi fantasy in nature, and she likes that. I was just perusing on semi-formed thoughts about the fact more adults seem to be reading books of this YA genre these days, whether Harry Potter is to blame, whether I am being slightly prissy in my assumptions that these books are not for me, whether targetting a teenage audience automatically makes something less applicable and less readable for older audiences. I am sure there are YA books out there which are very good, I'm probably just making assumptions that a higher proportion of them (esp. those with significant fantasy, supernatural or teenage morality elements) won't be my kind of thing than compared to other genres which I like more.

I was reading today about the disappearance on this day in 1966 of The Beaumont children from Glenelg Beach near Adelaide. The case has never been solved, and remains one of Australia's most significant unsolved mysteries. I was talking to my Dad last weekend about the freedom that he had when he was a young child, and to some extent I had the same sort of freedom myself - so long as I was back by mealtimes. The perception is that it's a much more dangerous world these days and no parent would let their kids go off in such a manner, but in truth statistics don't back this up in most countries, and times are in fact safer. The issue would be that kids are not so 'streetwise' these days and haven't developed the risk assessment skills which prevented most kids of my and previous generations getting themselves in trouble.

For every vegetable which looks like a penis, is there a penis which looks like a vegetable? I once saw a photograph in a medical textbook of a ladies vagina which resembled cauliflower, but she was very much affected with a nasty venereal disease.

Under section 12 of the English Matrimonial Causes Act 1973, a refusal or inability to consummate a marriage can be grounds for the marriage to be voided. The Marriage (Same Sex Couples) Bill introduced into the UK parliament in 2013 specifically excluded non-consummation as a ground for the annulment of a same-sex marriage.

Last night I sat down to read more of that boring women's book about Venice, but soon concluded it would be difficult to finish and pointless to force myself to do so. I hence wrote an honest 'I didn't like this (despite wanting to do so because it was a gift and because it was beautiful in places), but I am sure that many folks would' review. Not my kind of thing. I've started a PD James now instead - detective crime stuff, but a change from the Scottish and Scandinavian stuff I've read recently.

Shrewsbury is twinned with Zutphen, Netherlands, a move inspired by the fact Sir Philip Sidney, an alumnus of Shrewsbury School, was fatally wounded there in 1586. At the end of the Second World War Shrewsbury's then Mayor, Harry Steward, who was made in 1946 an honorary citizen of Zutphen in return, launched an appeal for second-hand tools, clothes, bedding and other materials towards the town's post-war reconstruction after Nazi German occupation and war damage.

Right. I'm bored of this. I think I'll go and try and sort out my clothes for the week ahead or something, do a constructive task for the first time in hours.


Today's first FA Cup tie ended Sheffield United 1-1 Fulham. The Cottagers made a large number of changes, somewhat understandably, which must've increased the chances of an upset. The weather was wet in Yorkshire, especially in the six-yard boxes - and there was an element of blame in the weather for Riise's early injury. United went ahead on the half hour when Chris Porter deflected a long low shot past Stockdale. Rodallega was brought down by the keeper at the other end, but nothing given. Ten minutes in the second half, the dynamic looked likely to change hugely when Sheffield United's Michael Doyle was sent off for an off-the-ball kick at Muamer Tankovic (possibly retaliation for an earlier clash). United could/should have had a spot-kick. Rodallega showed rare composure and talent to equalise with fifteen or so left. Darren Bent completely spannered a chance to win it in the final five.

Elsewhere, later in the day, and on TV, we had a score of Chelsea 1-0 Stoke City. An entertaining start, Chelsea on the front foot and Stoke defending well (Shawcross made a few perfect tackles) till the opener came after twenty-seven when Oscar curled in an impossible to save direct free kick. Chelsea were looking impressive, and came close to adding to this lead before half time - Lampard twice missing when odds on to score - though at the other end Stephen Ireland shot narrowly wide of the near post. The second half was the same story - Chelsea hit a post, and Begovic was called to make two or three good saves, but they didn't score again and didn't look likely to concede.


FIFTH ROUND DRAW:-
Manchester City v Chelsea
Sheff United/Fulham v Nottm Forest/Preston NE
Arsenal v Liverpool
Brighton v Hull City
Cardiff City v Wigan Athletic
Sheff Weds v Charlton Ath
Sunderland v Southampton
Everton v Swansea City

...So yes, some decent ties there. Four all-Premier League ones, including two obvious box-office ties. Two all-Championship ties, guaranteeing presence of lower-league teams in the quarter-finals. Two others which are mixed and offer some interest TBC.

previous - "The Beautiful People" - next

Skip to an entry at random



LAST FIVE ENTRIES

This is the last day of our acquaintance (for now) - Sunday, Dec. 31, 2017
Liquidised otter down funnel into cut hole to melt appendicolith. - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2017
Stark naked, blood-stained, calling for bagels. - Thursday, Dec. 28, 2017
In the absence of thallium - Wednesday, Dec. 27, 2017
Hammering bespoke egg nails into the tarmac. - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2017






about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

This is all copyright 2002-2017 'He Who Is Joist Monkey'.


Who links to me?