previous - "The Beautiful People" - next - Skip to an entry at random

Why would Phil be wearing rubber gloves?

Monday, Apr. 17, 2017 - 22:16

1. I watched a documentary about building a massive arch type shed thing next to Chernobyl, then sliding it over the cracking sarcophagus that's been entombing the reactor since '86. Interesting shizzle, the programme also covered a load of other aspects of the disaster, clean-up and consequences. Nice engineering, you sexy mothers. Ah, and it was Helen Baxendale narrating.

2. Work was 'meh'. Frustration at the amount I'm being asked to do, especially when my immediate colleague is less than motivated. I was in at half nine, left at half two, spilled Dr. Pepper Zero (yeuch!) over myself but a nice lady gave me tissues on the train, but tired I was. Mainly because I got a text saying my clothes were ready to connect from ASDA, so I walked to the other side of town then home - highlights included sitting on some benches and there were teen lesbians but not fit ones - and was knackered.

3. One hundred and ten years ago today, the Ellis Island immigration center processed 11,747 people, more than on any other day. Ellis Island, in Upper New York Bay, was the gateway for over 12 million immigrants to the United States as the nation's busiest immigrant inspection station for over sixty years from 1892 until 1954. Some eugenics took place though, forsure.

4. I didn't know that the lead singer of Life of Agony ('Weeds') is now a lady. Keith Caputo transitioned from male to female in the early 2010s and is now known as Mina. I've not heard any of their newer stuff, the stuff from last century was definitely a bloke vocal. Have just looked up some of their new stuff, pretty pleasant it is, still quite a low voice with the singer/singstress.

5. Read a 25p punt of a book with a low rating of 2.4 out of five online. Quite enjoyed it ('The Shape Of A Stranger' by Francesca Weisman) really - 300+ pages read in one day, a disturbing storyline reminding me of my mad ex-girlfriend, a mature and solid style. Disturbing stuff though, quite disorientating.

6. Glencoe Station is a pastoral lease that operates as a sheep station and more recently as a cattle station. It is located about 17 kilometres (11 mi) south of Cunnamulla and 154 kilometres (96 mi) north east of Hungerford in Queensland. The property is located on the floodplain of the Warrego River. The station was sold in 1909 by Mr Barney Smith to Mr Moore of New South Wales together with all stock and plant. The station was "burnt to the ground" in 1934 causing between £1000 and £2000 damage. The owner, Ross MacDonald, and his wife were away at the time and no one was hurt in the fire.

7. Twenty years ago today, I got turned away from the upstairs disco/club area bit in the wee town near where my folks live. This was because I had coloured shoelaces in my Dr Martens boots. Instead me and my friend went and got a kebab, then walked home via the railway viaduct, before then walking a very long route home round the river bank wearing just shoes and socks and carrying out clothes. Silly drunk clothes removal stuff. I'd had banoffee pie for tea, this was back in the days when I wasn't allergic to banananas.

8. The Mitsui Miike Coal Mine disaster was an accidental explosion at the Miike coal mine in Kyushu, Japan on 9 November 1963. 458 people were killed by the explosion or by carbon monoxide poisoning caused by the explosion. 839 others were injured by the blast or carbon monoxide poisoning. Many of the poisoned survivors suffered severe, permanent brain damage.

9. The evening's Premier League game finished Middlesbrough 1-2 Arsenal. It proved to be the expected scrappy and crappy meeting of two sides in low form and low confidence. Boro were popping a few shots in from distance without a lot of quality, Wenger's 3-4-3 formation was asking questions of his own team as well as the hosts. Some nasty and bad tacking. Just before the break, Alex Sanchez twatted home an opener direct from one of the resulting free kicks. Early in the second, an equaliser, wonderful wing warlockry from Downing who found Negredo to volley with style. Then a bit later, Ozil scored from Ramsay's knock-down and the Boro positivity stomped on. The two centre backs, Gibbo and Danno (Ayala) both should've done better with chances presented. Looks like trips to Fleetwood or Scunthorpe next year, perchance, not Manchester United and Liverpool.

10. Elsewhere in domestic football, Brighton rubber-stamped their promotion to the top flight, Huddersfield only drawing at Derby. It looks like Newcastle will sneak second place, and four from Reading, Huddersfield, Sheff Wednesday, Fulham and Leeds with contest the play-offs (I'm hoping The Owls make it). Plymouth and Portsmouth clinched promotion from League Two.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

This is all copyright 2002-2017 'He Who Is Joist Monkey'.