previous - "The Beautiful People" - next - Skip to an entry at random

A pile of faecal matter

Saturday, May. 20, 2017 - 22:57

1. Today was somewhat dictated by a few things - sleeping in late because I was pretty tired by the working week, it raining when I got up (hence the half-formed plans to go walking were stymied) and the usual framework of Saturday afternoon Premier League football not present as the ten fixtures are tomorrow. I upped just before noon (dreams included interviewing several ex-colleagues from other jobs I have had) and did some laundry, watched telly, ate crisps and a Tesco 'Feast' ice cream knock-off. A Roy Orbison documentary which I recorded last night was interesting if a bit odd with respect to the framework being someone narrating 'as Roy'.

2. Work was OK the last past of the week, albeit I was somewhat tired (oddly, it wasn't a particularly busy few days). I finished that very enlightening Sally Brampton book, and yesterday started a Peter May novel that so far has been quite good. Being crowded on the way to work and tired on the way back, I didn't get hugely far, but hey nonny.

3.

4.

5. Last night's telly was a bit mixed. HIGNFY pretty good, but as far as politics is concerned I am getting really very sick with the way that the upcoming general election is being covered in social media - unregulated and opinionated, full of personal attacks on people, really unpleasant. On top of that you have the opposition's ability to just attack the incumbent and say "We would've done it better, everyone would have the moon on a stick" without actually doing it. If you have come to a stand-point based on reason and political philosophy, fair enough, vote for who you like. If you're voting because you believe what someone from a certain biased standpoint is saying on Facebook or the like, taking it unchallenged, that'd be a bad way to decide how the country is ruled.

6. After that on the box, I watched a bit of MMA. The gaudy presentation seems cheap and nasty, and it's odd that the 'sport' actually consists of a few minutes of circling and waving arms/legs then a few minutes of cuddling on the floor. After this I made the mistake of watching some of a Luiza Omielan stand-up show, which did have a few good jokes, but which I found pretty repugnant and off-putting. Trying to think about why this was, it was because of the crudeness of it - I admit there is a part of my dislike based on thinking women should behave a little more femininely (not like the worst drunken hen party ever) but I would've felt the same and do feel the same about blokes doing such crude mistanthropic sexual stuff.

7. In the League One play-off, a goal five from the end by Steve Morison gave his side (Millwall) a 1-0 victory over Bradford City, not the result that I would've chosen, had I been God. That said, were I a deity I'm not sure the footy results would be my biggest priority. This evening I ate BBQ chicken drumsticks and watched an episode of 'Walks With My Dog' that featured Kirsty Wark in Arran, Bill Bailey in Exmoor, and Julian Clary on The South Downs. Quietly interesting.

8. Israel Kamakawiwo'ole would've been 58 today had he not died in 1997. I was listening to a little of him earlier in the week when feeling somewhat stressed at work - 'Somewhere Over the Rainbow/What a Wonderful World' is a beautiful song, calming.

9. This afternoon was a bust. After lunch I went to read a bit but fell asleep till late afternoon, this evening I couldn't really settle on anything, and had a somewhat 'nothing' time of it. Perchance I could've wrested something from the day had I watched a film or something, but I was in a very cacky mood and wouldn't have stuck with it.

10. My guts hurt. My head hurts. I am going to bed.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

This is all copyright 2002-2017 'He Who Is Joist Monkey'.