Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
Site search Web search

powered by FreeFind
Widget is loading comments...



Links:-

Diaryland Diaries
sidewaysrain
toastcrumbs
narcissa
wilberteets
stellarrobot
onlyemma
shot-of-tea
drbigbeef
portlypete
lilkate
omgwtfyo
crackisbad
loz-er
bridgecity
melle-belle
dangerspouse
stepfordtart
barefootruby
question-it
dinosaurs
annanotbob2
ottodixless
randomrabbit
suckasspoems
janeygodley
raven72d
vinylgirl
darklily
college-kid
nacht-katze
strawberrri
simeons-twin


Non-Diaryland Diaries
A Witty Kitty
Bone Idle
Bored Laura
DiscoDave
Frock'n'Roll
Gaffer's Planet
I'd Rather Be In Bedford...
JennyWooYay
Mighty MonkSeal
The Left Coast (mini)
Water Lilly Alley
WhaleFish

Others
Free Internet Chess Server

previous - "The Beautiful People" - next

Skip to an entry at random

Harder than Deborah's sibling.

Monday, Apr. 09, 2012 - 18:56

Slightly unheralded was waking up at 0630 today. Birds were singing. The rain was falling. I was farting.

I watched Lars Von Trier's 'The Idiots' this morning, which was interesting. Really interesting, in fact, if a little too much 'look at how challenging we are being making this film' in places - as far as I was concerned. Not his best film, but some astonishing performances and ideas within. I think the scandalisation (both w.r.t. real sex and a real erection, and with regards able people pretending to be disabled) does a disservice to the film and what it's trying to explore, and detracts from the movie as a concept.

I'd like to see more Dogme 95 films. I'd like to see 'Festen' again, and there are a number of other critically acclaimed ones (e.g. 'Elsker dig for evigt') that I'd gladly view if available. Anne Louise Hassing as Susanne and Louise Mieritz as Josephine were good in 'The Idiots', and I was pleased to recognise the posh lady who came to view the house as having been in 'Festen'.

Speaking of feasts, I had a microwave lasagne for dinner. Quite sad and limp and all that shizzle. My indigestion has been pretty chucking nasty this weekend because my diet is poop.

I'd like more information about airshows and risk and statistics. I know that passenger airflight is one of the safest ways to travel, but I am very edgy about the pros and cons and all that of airshows and air-race spectators n'that - seems relatively dangerous considering the frequency of accidents, potential for severity due to the proximity of crowds and planes, additional risk due to pilots carrying out manoevres toward the limit of their abilities, and the sheer fact all these risks are done 'for fun' as opposed to doing it in the context of war or getting somewhere or something. I've just got some video of Sknyliv air show disaster in my brain that I cannot un-see.

Last night I watched the Family Guy skit of Return of the Jedi ('It's A Trap!) which wasn't as impactful as earlier ones in the series, but was pretty funny. I laughed heartily at the jet skimmer chase through The Forest of Endor, as a chase on racing bikes.

I have a spot on my cheek, just above the line between my right nostril and the corner of my mouth. It's particularly annoying because I've squeezed it a few times and it's weeped a little clear fluid, but apart from that it's just angry and throbbing.

Quite an achievement this aternoon - a score of 1939000 on Bejeweled 3 Classic. I even made it onto the 'best scores of the last hour' list that comes up (in 5th). I think I'll give my job up and become a professional swap game player.

Resolutely, I lain on my bed last night and read a couple of chapters of my book about the brain. Likewise I did the same this morning (reading two subsequent chapters, not the same two again) and am now three fifths of the way through. It's mildly interesting, but no more exciting than a coffee-table book. Or a toilet book. I don't have a coffee table in my toilet, however. Or a toilet in my lounge.

Anyhow, I better go iron my shirts and stuff. This has whimpered out a little as a day and as an entry..


At whatever St James' Park is called these days 'cause of sponsorship reasons, it ended Newcastle 2-0 Bolton Wanderers. Quite even in the first half, with Bolton playing (and defending, in particular) better than their placement might suggest they would be able to. Hatem Ben Arfa scored an absolute pearler in the second half, and man of the moment Cisse got a second in the closing moments.

Down south in 'The Big Smoke', a three o'clock kick-off saw a final score of Tottenham 1-2 Norwich, with The Canaries dressed as Irishmen. Only ten or twelve minutes were on the ticker when Anthony Pilkington put the away side ahead after some poor defending - are Spurs losing their grip on Champions league qualification with their poor late-season form? Defoe was able to use De-pace to score De-equaliser only fiftenn minutes later, however, deservedly for Tottenham, but Norwich managed to get a second, something that Redknapp's men were unable to muster. A poor home loss by Spurs, who are now only ahead of Newcastle in fifth on goal difference.

In Merseyside, a repeat of the FA Cup quarter final. The Toffees won that one in a replay, but this one didn't look to be heading the same way (it was 0-0 at half time) until the scores were opened in the 52nd minute. It ended Everton 4-0 Sunderland, with Everton comfortable - goals by Gueye, Pienaar, Osman and Anichebe.

A tea-time offering in Birmingham concluded with the score of Aston Villa 1-1 Stoke City. Villa went ahead through the young Austrian Andreas Weimann in the first half, but were pegged back by a Huth equaliser with twenty to go.

Oh, and int' Chumpionshit, among other results we had a score of Hull City 2-1 Middlesbrough at The KC Stadium. Emnes has had a great season, and scored his sixteenth of the campaign after just fifteen minutes. Boro were unable to keep their advantage in the second half, and fell to another defeat (and down to 7th).

In the evening kick-off we had the most local of local derbies, which ended Fulham ?-? Chelsea. Actually I looked this up and apparently Nottingham Forest & Notts County are the closest two grounds to each other in English football, with Dundee and Dundee United's stadia geographically even closer to each other. The game finished after I posted this.

previous - "The Beautiful People" - next

Skip to an entry at random



LAST FIVE ENTRIES

This is the last day of our acquaintance (for now) - Sunday, Dec. 31, 2017
Liquidised otter down funnel into cut hole to melt appendicolith. - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2017
Stark naked, blood-stained, calling for bagels. - Thursday, Dec. 28, 2017
In the absence of thallium - Wednesday, Dec. 27, 2017
Hammering bespoke egg nails into the tarmac. - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2017






about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

This is all copyright 2002-2017 'He Who Is Joist Monkey'.


Who links to me?