Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
Site search Web search

powered by FreeFind
Widget is loading comments...



Links:-

Diaryland Diaries
sidewaysrain
toastcrumbs
narcissa
wilberteets
stellarrobot
onlyemma
shot-of-tea
drbigbeef
portlypete
lilkate
omgwtfyo
crackisbad
loz-er
bridgecity
melle-belle
dangerspouse
stepfordtart
barefootruby
question-it
dinosaurs
annanotbob2
ottodixless
randomrabbit
suckasspoems
janeygodley
raven72d
vinylgirl
darklily
college-kid
nacht-katze
strawberrri
simeons-twin


Non-Diaryland Diaries
A Witty Kitty
Bone Idle
Bored Laura
DiscoDave
Frock'n'Roll
Gaffer's Planet
I'd Rather Be In Bedford...
JennyWooYay
Mighty MonkSeal
The Left Coast (mini)
Water Lilly Alley
WhaleFish

Others
Free Internet Chess Server

previous - "The Beautiful People" - next

Skip to an entry at random

That knight is busted opium

Tuesday, Apr. 10, 2012 - 22:33

Proper struggled today. Partly this was the anticipated 'Monday Morning Blues' type thing where I've had a couple of days of my own company and hence can't cope with other people as well as I might. Four days off over Easter meant this was even more marked.

There is also the fact that the women in the office were quite chatty with each other (banal) and with me (distracting). The neuroscience and psychology book I am reading said that gossip was essentially the human equivalent of 'grooming' which hairy apes do - a perhaps slightly unnecessary process which strengthens social bonds between people. I am with the (Aspergers Syndrome) author in finding it a bit difficult to fathom at times, but I do appreciate that it is of value sociologically.

I struggled to get much work done either. This was partly because of the above issues, but also because I have too much to do in too little time, am sure to be blamed for everything that goes wrong after I leave, can't abide the laziness and feckwittedness of some of my colleagues, and.. Oh I was constipated too, and felt I needed a wee most of the day (my pessimistinc self thinks it's prostate cancer, my realistic self thinks it's probably that I've not had a wank for a few days).

An anagram of the name of Portsmouth player M�rk� Fut�cs is 'So fuck a tram'. I have no evidence that the Hungarian has ever had sexual relations with a public transport vehicle, though he did used to play for Werder Bremen's reserves team, and the Bremer Stra�enbahn does take you, on tram number 10, very close to the Weserstadion. Perhaps he developed a fetish in his youth for BKV trolleybuses or trams, back in Budapest?

On the way home I popped into Waitrose (not because I am posh, but because I left work late and that's all which was open after six within easy walking distance) and was amazed to have to wait behind some well-dressed middle-aged man quibbling with the checkout girl about 4p that hadn't been taken off the price of his 56p bag of Maltesers. Though correct, he was proper patronising, and just came over as a knobhead. I had to exercise self control in not tripping him over in the street once we left the shop.

The Fulham match yesterday ended (after I posted) 1-1 with Chelsea. Dempsey is from Texas, you know. Insert your own Sharleen Spiteri themed Scottish pop band joke here. No, don't insert cotton buds into your ears or nostrils, that's dangerous. But not as dangerous as creeping into the big cat enclosure and inserting them into the nose/ears of sleeping lions or tigers. Or lionesses and tigresses. You get the idea.

Plenty of drama at Ewood Park ['Ewok Parod'? A small furry humanoid who now belongs to a Jewish kibbutz of Hungarian jews] where the score was Blackburn Rovers 2-3 Liverpool. The Scousers fielded a weakened team, but were two up within sixteen minutes, Maxi Rodriguez slotting in twice in the opening exchanges from close range each time. Rovers were back in the game before the break, however, due partly to Liverpool having their starting keeper (Doni, this time) sent off for the second game in a row. The Yak failed to convert the penalty, Brad Jones saving the weak attempt, but he headed in a free-kick just before half time.

Bizarre shit in the second half, Brad Jones (who with his first touch had saved a penalty) had a clearance charged down, and then fouled Yakubu when trying to get to the ball to recapture it. The keeper just got a yellow, and the striker got an equaliser from a penalty on the hour mark. Injury time, and an Agger free-kick was cleared for a corner. The depleted Liverpool team nicked the points in a sensational manner - the corner is cleared but was returned into the box where Andy Carroll powered a header into the net. Rovers stay in the bottom three and Liverpool are up to 8th, just behind Everton.

This is a dull and [mainly] sensible and factual entry, innit? Part of me feels I should be apologetic for this, but in truth I don't actually think that an entry on the theme of 'documenting my dull day' is all that bad, in moderation, esp. if you compare alternatives of rant/thought-heavy entries regarding what's on my mind, or me not writing at all. There is an extent to which I still believe in alchemy and in the value of data. Yes, the combination and/or the magic word might be in amongst a load of chaff, but this is preferable to it not being there at all through lack of expression, perchance?

Thai actor Tony Jaa performed a number of stunts for the film, suffering injuries such as a ligament injury and a sprained ankle. One scene involved fighting while his trousers were on fire, which spread upwards and burnt his eyebrows, eyelashes and nose during filming. Despite this, he did several more takes after that. Tony Jaa likes sandwiches but not putting anchovies in the shower.

LISTENING TO:- Some less well-known Bruce Springsteen tunes, including 'The Promise', 'The Fuse', and acoustic version of 'Thunder Road' I have, and the beautiful 'Highway Patrolman'. This video is nothing, but the audio is chilling.

previous - "The Beautiful People" - next

Skip to an entry at random



LAST FIVE ENTRIES

This is the last day of our acquaintance (for now) - Sunday, Dec. 31, 2017
Liquidised otter down funnel into cut hole to melt appendicolith. - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2017
Stark naked, blood-stained, calling for bagels. - Thursday, Dec. 28, 2017
In the absence of thallium - Wednesday, Dec. 27, 2017
Hammering bespoke egg nails into the tarmac. - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2017






about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

This is all copyright 2002-2017 'He Who Is Joist Monkey'.


Who links to me?